Press releases

Vodacom Group

Entries open for 10th annual Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards

Tuesday, 2 August 2011

Vodacom today announced the opening of entries for the 2011 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards. The Awards celebrate a decade of excellence in journalism and aim to reward the media that have displayed outstanding reporting in 2010/2011.

"We are delighted to announce the opening of entries for the 2011 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards. To celebrate the tenth year of the Awards, we have added new judges and two new categories," says Portia Maurice, Chief Officer of Corporate Affairs at Vodacom.

The Awards have been expanded to include two new categories; one for consumer journalism and another for journalism in social media.

"We feel that the addition of these two categories is vital to the growth of the Awards," says Maurice. "Consumer journalism is imperative as it provides a platform to air the rights of consumers and of course, social media has become an increasingly important part of our news landscape."  

Judges for this year's Awards include industry influencers like Ruda Landman, Tim Modise, Max du Preez and Arthur Goldstuck.

Past winners have highlighted the significant value of these long standing Awards.

The national winner for 2010, Barbara Friedman, says, "The Award has given me increased confidence in telling the kind of stories that I believe in - often of an unconventional and sensitive nature. I have also gained more respect and recognition within the industry. But by and large, the job hasn't changed; I'm still always looking for my next provocative story!"

Paula Chowles, winner of last year's TV category also commented, "There is real benefit in entering Vodacom's Journalist of the Year Awards. Not only is it South Africa's premier media awards that recognises and celebrates all forms journalism, but entering allows journalists to reflect on the good work they've done in the past year and interrogate how they could do better. This is certainly rewarding."

Entries are open from 2 August 2011 until 26th August 2011. Journalists and editors nominating their Editor's Choice candidates can enter online through the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards website on

Alternatively, participants can have their entries collected from their desks by Media Express, one of the sponsors of the Awards, or they can be delivered in person to one of five regional Vodacom offices.

The overall 2011 Vodacom Journalist of the Year national winner will walk away with R125 000 in prize money, as well as being given the opportunity to donate an additional R125 000 to an official charity of his or her choosing. Every regional winner will receive R7 500, while each national winner will receive R15 000.


Television – General News Columnist
Television – Feature Cartoonist
Print – General News Photography
Print – Feature Sport
Radio – General News Community Media
Radio – Feature Editor’s Choice
(In association with the JSE Limited)
Online Journalism
(In association with Nokia)
Consumer Journalism (In association with Pick n Pay)Social Media in Journalism (In association with Cerebra*)

View previous press releases