Are you looking for information about offers, devices or your account?

Please choose your local Vodacom website


No thanks, I want to stay on

Media releases

Vodacom Group

Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards ?.. Ready, Steady, Enter

Monday, 31 July 2017

Prestigious awards confirm 1 August entry opening date.

Johannesburg, 31 July 2017 — Entries for the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards will open on 1 August, closing on 31 August. This year’s theme is ‘Your Word’, and promotes the integrity of journalism across all media. Press freedom and the right of expression are in the spotlight and The Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards honour the best in South African journalism.

“We are pleased to confirm that entries for the 2017 Awards open on 1 August. The ‘VJOYs’ honour journalists from around the country by recognising their best work from the past year. Vodacom remains wholly committed to supporting freedom of expression in South Africa through our ongoing sponsorship of the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards. These awards give us a chance to pay tribute to the critical work journalists do to disseminate news,” said Takalani Netshitenzhe, Chief Officer for Corporate Affairs at the Vodacom Group.

Awards are given for the best journalist in a range of categories in five regions nationally, with the process culminating in a national award ceremony in Johannesburg. The awards are regarded as one of the highest accolades for South African journalists. The VJOYs are a means of recognising skill in the all-important arena of news and information dissemination. Winning a Vodacom Award has become a prestigious career achievement, with the overall national winner set to receive a prize of R100 000.

Said Netshitenzhe, “Journalism provides insight from which people can make informed choices and remain linked to their communities, country and the world. There have been vitally important news stories and reportage over the past year and for Vodacom there is a synergy between keeping people connected through our network and the tireless work that journalists do, sometimes at personal risk to themselves.”

The 12 categories are:

  • Television News
  • Television Feature
  • Radio News
  • Radio Feature
  • Print News
  • Print Feature
  • Online
  • Photography
  • Financial/Economic
  • CSI/Sustainability
  • Sport
  • Young Journalist

The judging panel will also debate and decide on the Lifetime Achiever’s Award that recognises the lifetime contribution made by a single individual to journalism and media in this country.

The VJOYs have a proud history of honouring excellence in journalism across a range of categories. Journalists will be able to enter their best achievements for work produced between 1 June 2016 and 31 July 2017.

Entries open from 1 August, and can be submitted online at Entries close at 6pm on 31 August and no late entries will be considered. If preferred, entries can also be collected at journalists’ desks by Internet Express, a sponsor of the awards or entries can be delivered to one of the five Vodacom regional offices.

Regional category winners will receive R5 000 each, national category winners take home R10 000 each, with the coveted national accolade of Vodacom Journalist of the Year Award winner receiving R100 000. The winner of the young journalist award must have been a journalist for no more than three years, and will win an all-expenses paid overseas trip, that includes a visit to the Thomson Foundation, as well as the opportunity to work in a newsroom.

View previous press releases