Press releases

Vodacom Group

Vodacom announces regional winners of 2011 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards for the Central region

Monday, 26 September 2011

After a rigorous judging process by the judging panel, Vodacom is pleased to announce the regional winners for the 2011 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards in the Central region.

Countrywide, 1224 entries were submitted by journalists for the tenth annual Awards this year, a 33% increase in entries from last year. The Awards have grown from strength to strength over the last decade. 

The Central region had the most entries from journalists in the print feature category (a total of 35 entries).

Portia Maurice, Chief Officer, Corporate Affairs at Vodacom commented, "From the feature stories to the exposés, this year's entries really reflected the changing fabric of South African society and the range of social challenges we have to confront as a society - from consumer issues and service delivery to rape."

The winners will officially receive their prizes at a champagne breakfast to be held in Bloemfontein on the 29th September at the Protea Hotel Willow Lake Tandora. All the regional winners countrywide will go on to the National Awards ceremony in Johannesburg on the 4th of November.

The winners of the 2011 Vodacom Journalist of the Year regional Awards in the Central region are:

2011 Columnist winner
James Siddall, The Sunday Independent, The unbearable brightness of being

2011 Community Media winner
Charne Kemp, Kalahari Bulletin, Bouers op knieë gedwing

2011 Consumer Journalism winner
Ansja Ferreira, Vrouekeur, Bespaar op mediese kostes

2011 Financial/Economic winner
Vida Booysen, Media24, Sake24, Draadkarre  

2011 Online Journalism winner
No winner

2011 Photography winner
Willem van der Berg, Wilcoberg, Tien dae in Ficksburg

2011 Print: Feature winner
Charne Kemp, Media24, Volksblad, SA het talle Bonnie en Clydes opgelewe

2011 Print: General News winner
Pieter Steyn, Media24, Volksblad, Skokverkragting in Pelonomi!

2011 Radio: Feature winner
Teboho Letshaba, SABC, Lesedi FM Makumane, Breakfast in prison

2011 Radio: General News winner
Zimasa Mbewu, SABC, SABC Current News, Tatane

2011 Sport winner
Teboho Letshaba, SABC, Lesedi FM Makumane, Where to Bafana?

2011 Television: Feature winner
No winner

2011 Television: General News winners
Filane Chomane, SABC, News, Service Delivery, police brutality mass action
Motale Sebego, SABC, News, Service Delivery, police brutality mass action

2011 Editors Choice winner
Pieter Steyn, Media24, Volksblad

2011 Cartoonist winner
No winner

Maurice concludes, "Good journalists are the conscience of our society, we are pleased to be able to help them shine in a small way."


View previous press releases