Board of directors

Peter Moyo

Peter Moyo Independent non - executive director and Chairman of the board

Shameel Aziz Joosub

Shameel Aziz Joosub Chief Executive Officer and executive director

Till Streichert

Till Streichert Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director of Vodacom Group

David Brown

David Brown Independent non - executive director

Priscillah Mabelane

Priscillah Mabelane Independent non-executive director

Jabu Moleketi

Jabu Moleketi Independent non - executive director

Thoko Mokgosi-Mawantembe

Thoko Mokgosi-Mawantembe Independent non - executive director

John Otty

John Otty Non - executive director

Michael Joseph

Michael Joseph Non - executive director

Serpil Timuray

Serpil Timuray Non - executive director

Ronald Schellekens

Ronald Schellekens Non - executive director

Marten Pieters

Marten Pieters Non-executive director

Overview of Board Structure

Vodacom is committed to the highest standards of business integrity, ethics and professionalism.

The Board recognises the need to conduct the business in accordance with the principles of the King Code of Corporate Practices and Conduct (‘King III’). These principles include discipline, independence, responsibility, fairness, social responsibility, transparency and the accountability of directors to all stakeholders.

A number of these principles are entrenched in the Group’s internal controls and policy procedures governing corporate conduct.

The Board is satisfied that every effort has been made in 2014/2015 to comply in all material aspects with King III. Where we do not comply, this is stated and explained.

The Vodacom Group’s corporate governance structure as at 31 March 2015 is as follows:


Vodacom has a unitary board of 12 directors. Five directors, including the Chairman, are independent non-executive directors, a further five are non-executive directors and two are executive directors. Although the majority are non-executive directors, half of our non-executive directors are not independent as recommended by King III as they represent Vodafone. However, the Board is satisfied that the balance of power and objectivity on the Board is sufficient and does not require additional independent voices.

A Board charter has been adopted which details the responsibilities of the Board. These include:

  • oversight of the Group’s strategic direction;
  • approving major capital projects, acquisitions or divestments;
  • exercising objective judgement on the Group’s business affairs independent from management;
  • ensuring that appropriate governance structures, policies and procedures are in place;
  • ensuring the effectiveness of the Group’s internal controls;
  • reviewing and evaluating the Group’s risks;
  • approving the annual budget and operating plan
  • approving the annual and interim financial results and shareholder communications
  • approving the senior management structure, responsibilities and succession plans; and
  • responsibility for technology governance.

Corporate governance structure

BOARD (Board committee)

Nomination committee

View Nomination committee

Remuneration committee

View Remuneration committee

Social and Ethics committee

View Social and Ethics committee

Executive committee

View Executive committee

Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee

View Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee

Independent non-executive directors

View Independent non-executive directors

Non-executive directors

View Non-executive directors

Executive directors

View Executive directors